NC, SC state lawmakers sign letter asking for audit of ‘corrupted’ 2020 election

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WBTW) — Thirteen state lawmakers from South Carolina and 16 from North Carolina have signed a letter asking for an audit of each state to look into claims of a “corrupted” 2020 presidential election.

The letter, dated Tuesday and posted by Wendy Rogers, an Arizona state senator, is addressed to “the citizens of the United States of America” and piggybacks on conspiracy theories about election fraud. 

The letter claims that “sworn affidavits have accumulated from many states detailing rampant corruption and mismanagement in the election process,” and that “fraud and inaccuracies have already been shown through multiple audits and canvasses in multiple states, as well as through lawsuits challenging the validity of election results in several counties in multiple states.”

Election conspiracy theories have been unfold by then-President Donald Trump and his supporters, which then spurred the Jan. 6 riot on the U.S. Capitol that left a number of lifeless. 

On Wednesday, a federal decide ordered two attorneys who filed a class-action lawsuit claiming the election was stolen by President Joe Biden to pay greater than $180,000 in legal professional charges for the defendants. 

The letter calls on states to decertify their electors if it’s confirmed that election outcomes “were certified prematurely and inaccurately.”

If it’s proven that Biden was not the winner, the letter needs the U.S. House of Representatives to vote and determine the “rightful winner.”

“This is our historic obligation to restore the election integrity of the vote as the bedrock of our constitutional republic,” the letter reads. “If we do not have accurate and fair elections, we do not have a country.”

More than 180 state legislatures from throughout the nation signed the letter.

South Carolina legislators who signed the letter are:

  • Rep. Stewart Jones
  • Rep. Ryan McCabe
  • Rep. RJ May
  • Rep. Vic Dabney
  • Rep. Bill Chumley
  • Rep. Mark Willis
  • Rep. Call Forrest
  • Rep. Mike Burns
  • Rep. Steven Long
  • Rep. Josiah Magnuson
  • Rep. Ashley Trantham
  • Rep. John McCravy
  • Rep. Melissa Oremus
  • North Carolina legislators who signed the letter are:
  • Sen. Ted Alexander
  • Sen. Wayne Sassar
  • Sen. Bob Steinburg
  • Rep. Jay Adams
  • Rep. Mike Clampitt
  • Rep. Edward Goodwin
  • Rep. Bobby Hanig
  • Rep. Kelly Hastings
  • Rep. Keith Kidwell
  • Rep. Donnie Loftis
  • Rep. Jeff McNeely
  • Rep. Tim Moffitt
  • Rep. Larry Pittman
  • Rep. Mitchell Setzer
  • Rep. Henry Warren
  • Rep. Sam Watford

Read Original Content Here

Scroll to Top